## 2016 ANNUAL SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

## What future for the WTO?

Geneva, 13-14 June 2016

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

## PROGRAMME

Monday, 13 June	
10:00 – 12:30	Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee ( <i>in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters</i> )
10:00 - 18:00	Registration of participants
15:00 – 15:30	Inaugural session
	<ul> <li>Mr. Krister Örnfjäder, MP (Sweden), Co-Chairman of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Mr. Bernd Lange, Chairman of the Committee on International Trade of the European Parliament, Co-Chairman of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Ambassador Harald Neple, Permanent Representative of Norway to the WTO, Chairperson of the WTO General Council</li> </ul>
15:30 – 16:30	Presentation of reports and interactive debate on the substantive theme <i>Making trade work for development after Nairobi</i>
	Rapporteurs
	Mr. Paul Rübig, Member of the European Parliament
	<ul> <li>Mr. Anurag Singh Thakur, MP (India)</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Mr. Helmut Scholz, Member of the European Parliament</li> </ul>
	Mr. Dennis Dumisani Gamede, MP (South Africa)
16:30 – 18:00	Dialogue with senior WTO negotiators and officials
10.50 - 10.00	WTO in the era of mega-regional trade agreements
	Guest Speakers
	<ul> <li>Ambassador Daniel Blockert, Permanent Representative of Sweden to the WTO, Chairman of the WTO Committee on Regional Trade Agreements</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Ambassador Marc Vanheukelen, Permanent Representative of the European Union to the WTO</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Ambassador Amr Ramadan, Permanent Representative of Egypt to the WTO</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Ambassador Junichi Ihara, Permanent Representative of Japan to the WTO</li> </ul>
	<ul> <li>Ambassador Fernando De Mateo Y Venturini, Permanent Representative of Mexico to the WTO</li> </ul>
	Moderator
	<ul> <li>Mr. Bernd Lange, Chairman of the Committee on International Trade of the European Parliament, Co-Chairman of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO</li> </ul>
18:00 – 19:30	Reception at the WTO

Tuesday 11 June	
Tuesday, 14 June	
10:00 - 11:00	Hearing with the WTO Deputy Director-General, <b>Mr. Karl Brauner</b> Post-Nairobi work: reflections on the future of the WTO
11:00 – 11:20	Briefing session Enacting the Trade Facilitation Agreement
	Keynote speaker
	Ms. Nora Neufeld (WTO Secretariat)
11:20 – 13:00	Continuation of interactive debate on the substantive theme <i>Making trade work for development after Nairobi</i>
13:00 – 15:00	Lunch break
15:00 – 16:30	Panel discussion <i>Trade as a vehicle of social progress: The gender perspective</i>
	Panellists
	Ms. Nurhayati Ali Assegaf, MP (Indonesia)
	Senator Azam Swat (Pakistan)
	• Ms. Arancha González, Executive Director, International Trade Centre
	<ul> <li>Ms. Noraini Ahmad, MP (Malaysia), Commonwealth Parliamentary Association</li> </ul>
	Moderator
	<ul> <li>Ms. Inmaculada Rodríguez-Piñero Fernández, Member of the European Parliament</li> </ul>
16:30 – 17:00	Briefing session The riddles of the WTO dispute settlement system
	Keynote speaker
	Ms. Valerie Hughes (WTO Secretariat)
17:00 – 17:30	Closing session: adoption of the outcome document
	Rapporteur

• Mr. Bernd Lange, Member of the European Parliament