ANNUAL 2015 SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

WTO at the age of 20

Geneva, 16-17 February 2015

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

Monday, 16 February

10:00 - 12:30	Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee (<i>in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters</i>)
10:00 - 18:00	Registration of participants
15:00 - 15:30	Inaugural session
	 Mr. Krister Örnfjäder, MP (Sweden), Co-Chairman of the Parliamentary Conference on the WTO
	Mr. Olli Rehn, Vice-President of the European Parliament
	 Ambassador Fernando De Mateo y Venturini, Permanent Representative of Mexico to the WTO, Chairperson of the WTO Dispute Settlement Body
15:30 - 16:30	Presentation of reports and interactive debate on the substantive theme Trade as an enabler of peace and better living conditions
	Rapporteurs
	Mr. Joerg Leichtfried, Member of the European Parliament
	Mr. Joseph Hyacinthe Owona Kono, MP (Cameroon)
	 Mr. Paul R ü ü big, Member of the European Parliament
	Mr. Anurag Singh Thakur, MP (India)
	Discussant
	Ms. Arancha González, Executive Director, International Trade Centre
16:30 - 18:00	Dialogue with senior WTO negotiators and officials Policy, politics and trade: keeping the WTO negotiations on the right track
	Guest Speakers
	 Ambassador Angelos Pangratis, Permanent Representative of the European Union to the WTO in Geneva
	 Ambassador Remigi Winzap, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the WTO, Chairperson of the WTO Negotiating Group on Market Access for Non-Agricultural Products
	 Ambassador Gabriel Duque, Permanent Representative of Colombia to the WTO, Chairperson of the Special Session of the WTO Council for Trade in Services
	•
18:00 - 19:30	Reception at the WTO
20:00 - 22:00	Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)

Tuesday, 17 February

10:00 - 11:00	Continuation of interactive debate on the substantive theme Trade as an enabler of peace and better living conditions
11:00 - 12:00	Hearing with the WTO Director-General, Mr. Roberto Azevêdo Why trade? Reflections on the WTO anniversary
12:00 - 13:00	Continuation of interactive debate on the substantive theme Trade as an enabler of peace and better living conditions
13:00 - 15:00	Lunch break
15:00 - 16:30	Panel discussion Conveying the benefits of the WTO to the wider public: The case of consumers and young people
	 <u>Panellists</u> Ms. Emma McClarkin, Member of the European Parliament Mr. F. Al-Tenaiji, MP (United Arab Emirates), President of the Forum of Young Parliamentarians of the IPU Ms. Amanda Long, Director General, Consumers International Mr. Shinkun Haku, MP (Japan) Mr. Desmond Van Rooyen, MP (South Africa)
16:30 - 16:50	Briefing session Enacting the Trade Facilitation Agreement <u>Keynote speaker</u> Ms. Sheri Rosenow (WTO Secretariat)
16:50 - 17:30	Conclusion of interactive debate on the substantive theme Trade as an enabler of peace and better living conditions
17:30 - 18:00	Closing session: adoption of the outcome document
	 <u>Rapporteur</u> Mr. Kil Jeong-woo, MP (Republic of Korea)