ANNUAL 2011 SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

Geneva, 21-22 March 2011

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

Monday, 21 March		
09:00 - 12:30	Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)	
10:00 - 18:00	Registration of participants	
15:00 - 15:30	 Inaugural session Senator Donald H. Oliver (Canada), Member of the IPU Executive Committee Mr. Stavros Lambrinidis, Vice-President of the European Parliament Ambassador Yonov Frederick Agah (Nigeria), Chairman of the WTO General Council 	
15:30 - 15:40	Adoption of the agenda and other organizational issues	
15:40 - 18:00	Debate on substantive theme (a): Multilateralism in the midst of the rising tide of bilateral and regional trade pacts Rapporteurs	
	 Senator Luis Alberto Heber (Uruguay) Mr. Paul Rübig, Member of the European Parliament <u>Discussant</u> Mrs. Ditte Juul-Joergensen, acting Director, WTO Affairs, 	
	Directorate-General for Trade, European Commission	
18:00	Reception	
20:00 - 22:00	Steering Committee (in camera meeting, IPU Headquarters)	
Tuesday, 22 March		
09:30 - 11:30	Debate on substantive theme (b):	
03.30 11.30	Rebalancing the rules of the multilateral trading system	
	in favour of the poor	
	Rapporteurs Ar. Lormus Rundhoo AAR (Mauritius)	
	 Mr. Lormus Bundhoo, MP (Mauritius) Mr. Helmut Scholz, Member of the European Parliament 	
	Discussant	
	Ambassador Anthony Mothae Maruping (Lesotho),	
	Chairman of the WTO Committee on Trade and Development	
11:30 - 13:00	Dialogue with senior WTO negotiators	
	 Trade and sustainable development: from collision to cohesion Ambassador Manuel A.J. Teehankee (Philippines), Chairman of the 	

Special Session of the WTO Committee on Trade and Environment

- Ambassador David Walker (New Zealand),
 Chairman of the Special Session on Agriculture
- Ambassador Hiswani Harun (Malaysia),
 Chairperson of the WTO Committee on Trade and Environment
- Mr. Bruce Christie, Deputy Permanent Representative of Canada to the WTO

13:00 - 15:00	Lunch break
15:00 - 16:00	Hearing with the WTO Director-General
16:00 - 17:40	Interactive panel discussion

Connecting to society: Trade policy-making in the era of mass communication

Moderator

- Mr. Niccolò Rinaldi, Member of the European Parliament Panellists
- Mr. Jamil Chade, journalist, "O Estado de S. Paulo" (Brazil)
- Mrs. Hedayat Abdel Nabi, journalist (Egypt),
 President of the Press Emblem Campaign
- Mr. John Zarocostas, journalist, "The Washington Times" (USA),
 President of the Association of Correspondents to the United Nations

17:40 - 18:00 Closing session