PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

Geneva, 17-18 February 2003

Organised jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME OF THE CONFERENCE

Sunday, 16 February

9.30 a.m. - 7 p.m. Registration of participants

3 - 6.30 p.m. Pre-Conference session of the Steering Committee (in camera meeting)

Monday, 17 February

8 a.m. - 6.30 p.m. Registration of participants

9.30 - 10 a.m. Inaugural session
10.15 a.m. - 1 p.m. Working session

Adoption of the agenda and other organisational issues

Substantive theme (a) Access to markets

Rapporteur

• Mr. Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal, MP (Mexico)

Discussants

- Mr. Paul Rübig, Member of the European Parliament
- Ambassador M. Supperamaniam, Permanent Representative of Malaysia to WTO

1 - 2.30 p.m. Lunch break

2.30 p.m. Continuation of the debate on substantive theme (a), followed by

Substantive theme (b)

Development dimension of the multilateral trading systemRapporteur

• Mr. Robert Haydn Davis, MP (South Africa)

Discussants

- Ms. Concepció Ferrer, Member of the European Parliament
- Ambassador Nathan Irumba, Permanent Representative of Uganda to WTO

5 p.m.

Interactive panel discussion: The need for a coherent policy framework of technical assistance and capacity-building Moderator

• Dr. Jean-Pierre Lehmann, Professor of International Political Economy, Director of Evian Group

Panellists

- Mr. Kipkorir Aly Azad Rana, WTO Deputy Director-General
- Ambassador Carlo Trojan, Permanent Representative of the European Commission to the WTO
- Mr. Faizel Ismail, Head of the South African delegation to the WTO
- Ms. Haleh Bridih, General Manager, World Bank Office, Paris
- Ms. Mina Mashayekhi, United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

6.45 p.m. Reception

8 - 10 p.m. Steering Committee (in camera meeting)

Tuesday, 18 February

9.30 a.m. Continuation of the debate on substantive theme (b)

1 - 2.30 p.m. Lunch break

2.30 p.m. Continuation of the debate on substantive theme (b), followed by

Substantive theme (c) Options for a parliamentary dimension of the WTO

Rapporteur

• Mr. Kobsak Chutikul, MP (Thailand)

Discussants

Ms. Erika Mann, Member of the European Parliament

• Baroness Hooper, Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

 Mr. Ney Lopes de Souza, MP (Brazil) President of the Latin American Parliament

6 - 6.30 p.m. Closing session

Adoption of the Final Declaration

Rapporteur

• Ms. Erika Mann, Member of the European Parliament