## REGIONAL SEMINAR ON THE ROLE OF PARLIAMENTS IN NATIONAL RECONCILIATION PROCESSES IN ENGLISH-SPEAKING AFRICA

Organized jointly by the Parliament of Sierra Leone and the Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

Sierra Leone, 23-25 June 2008

Bintumani hotel





## List of participants

H.E. Mr. Samuel Sam-Sumana Vice-President of the Republic of Sierra Leone

Hon. Justice Abel N.B. Stronge Speaker of the Parliament of Sierra Leone

Hon. Eddie Turay Leader of the Majority and Leader of Government Business, Parliament of Sierra Leone

> Mr. Martin Chungong Director, Division for the Promotion of Democracy Inter-Parliamentary Union (IPU)

Mr. A.F. Serry-Kamal Attorney-General and Minister of Justice

## Panellists

Mr. Kojo ASANTE	Governance and Legal Policy Officer / Coordinator of the Parliamentary Support program, Ghana Center for Democratic Development
Dr. Nemata MAJEKS-WALKER	Founder and First President of the 50/50 Group of Sierra Leone
Mr. Stephen S. MANLEY	Director of Programs, Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Liberia
Mr. Franklyn BAI KARGBO	Former Executive Secretary, Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Sierra Leone
Mr. Mohamed SUMA	Director, Sierra Leone Court Monitoring Programme, Sierra Leone
Ms. Marieke WIERDA	Director, Prosecutions Programme, International Center for Transitional Justice (ICTJ)
Mr. Suliman BALDO	Director, Africa Program, International Center for Transitional Justice
Ms. Sarah-Ann A. A. LEWIS	Coordinator GoSL Justice Sector, Coordination Office, Sierra Leone
Dr. Osman GBLA	Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences and Law, Fourah Bay College, University of Sierra Leone
Mr. Gebremedhin HAGOSS	Chief, Peace and Governance Section, UNIOSIL, Sierra Leone

## Participants

COUNTRY	NAME	TITLE
GHANA	Hon. Nil Daku Adu MANTE	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Likpalimor Kwajo TAWIAH	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Nana ABU-BONSRAH	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Joseph AMENOWODE	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Benjamin KOFI AYEH	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Abbey OPPEY	Member of the National Assembly
	Mr. Ebenezer Ahumah DJIETROR	Clerk of the National Assembly
KENYA	Hon. Olago ALUOCH	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. George NYAMWEYA	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Alfred SAMBU	Member of the National Assembly
	Mrs. Nancy W. MUKUNYA	Clerk, Deputy Director of the National Assembly
LIBERIA	Mr. James R. KABA	Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives
	Mr. Joseph O. LATHROBE	Secretary of the delegation
SOMALIA	Hon. Ahmed ASHAREHAWAD	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Hussein OSMAN	Member of the National Assembly
SUDAN	Hon. Farouq Ahmed ADAM	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Mohamed Suliman GHAZI	Member of the National Assembly
	Hon. Kon Bol YOUT	Member of the National Assembly
SIERRA LEONE	Hon. Victor C. JOHNSON	Deputy Speaker of the Parliament, Leader of the Delegation
	Hon. Momoh PUJEH	Member of Parliament, Minority Leader
	Hon. S.B.B. DUMBUYA	Member of Parliament, Deputy Majority Leader
	Hon. Alice FOYAH	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Legacy SANKOH	Member of Parliament, Deputy Leader PMDC
	Hon. Mathew S. NYUMA	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Ibrahim BUNDU	Member of Parliament, Chief Whip
	Hon. Jolly-Boy LAVALIE	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Rev. Marie YANSANEH	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Salamatu TURAY	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Sahr N. FASULUKU	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Bai Kurr Kanagbaro SANKA III Hon. P.C. Samba Bindi HINDOWA	Member of Parliament Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Bai Sebora KASANGBA II	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Alie B. SHERIFF	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Hassan B. SHERIFF	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Alhaji Bai S. YEK II	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Dhaffie BENYA	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Alie Balansama MARAH III	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Bai Bureh Sallu LUGBU II	Member of Parliament
	Hon. P.C. Brima Victor Sidi KEBBIE	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Thomas I MANSARAY	Member of Parliament, PMDC Leader
	Ms. Nenneh LEBBIE	Member of Parliament
	Ms. Victoria Saidu KAMARA	Member of Parliament
	Hon. Komba KOEDOYOMA	Member of Parliament, Deputy Chief Whip

Hon. Manie BETTS-PRIDDY Hon. Philip T. TONDONEH Ms. Bernadette LAHAI Hon. Emmanuel W. TOMMY Hon. Veronica SESAY Hon. Augustine B. TORTO Hon. James A. KAISAMBA Hon. Eric B. JUMU Hon. Frank KPOSOWA Hon. Sheku G. DUMBUYA Hon. Mohamed K. KANU Hon. Theresa M. SUWU Hon. Alhaji M. K. MARAH Hon. Sallieu CONTEH Hon. Abdul R. KAMARA Hon. Sylvester M. KOROMA Hon. Allieu B. TURAY Hon. Moses SESAY Hon. Albert MAC-BAILEY Hon. P.C. Sinnah Yovonie KANGOVA II Hon. P.C.M.S.L. BANYA Hon. Morlai B.S. KAMARA Hon. Nuru Deen SANKOH Hon. Edward A. SOLOKU Hon. Jusufu B. MANSARAY Hon. Bliss Osho WILLIAMS Hon. Kande C. BANGURA Hon. Charles H. KAL AWA Hon. Chernor R.M. BAH Hon. M. Sufian KARGBO Hon. Dauda DUMBUYA Hon. Lansana KEMOKAI Hon. Allieu Baddara K. MUNU Hon. Amadu KANU Hon. Alhaji Y. THULLAH Hon. Ibrahim SORIE Mr. Victor KAMARA Mr. Abraham K. SELLU Ms Georgiana LUKE Ms Georgette FORSTER Mrs Christiana BUCKNOR Mr. Mohamed LEBBIE Mr Daniel BOCKARIE Mr. Prince SORIBA Mr. Peter KULAGBANDA Ms. Feimata KALLON Ms. Mariatu JABBIE Ms. Adama KARGBO Mr. Cyril KING Mr. Samuel SONGA

Member of Parliament Member of Parliament Member of Parliament Member of Parliament, Deputy Minority Leader Member of Parliament **Clerk of Parliament** Secretary Secretariat staff Secretariat staff

		*	*	
UNDP	Mr. Bernard MOKAM			Resident Representative
UNICEF	Mr Michael CHARLEY			Child Protection Specialist, United Nations Children's Fund, Sierra Leone
Women's Forum S.L.J	Ms. Sally KAMARA			Member, Income Generating and Agricultural Committee, Western Region
		*		
		*	*	
INTER- PARLIAMENTARY UNION	Hon. Rogier HUIZENGA			Human Rights Programme Officer
	Ms. Kareen JABRE			Manager, Programme for Partnership between Men and Women

\*