HONG KONG SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENTARY CONFERENCE ON THE WTO

Hong Kong (China), 12 and 15 December 2005

Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the European Parliament

PROVISIONAL PROGRAMME

Monday, 12 December

9.30 - 10 a.m. Inaugural session

Speeches

- Mr. Pier Ferdinando Casini, IPU President
- Mr. Enrique Barón Crespo, Chairman of the Committee on International Trade, European Parliament
- Mr. Pascal Lamy, WTO Director-General
- Ms. Wuyun Qimuge, Vice-Chairwoman of the Standing Committee of the National Peoples' Congress of China

10 a.m. - 1 p.m. Working session

Adoption of the agenda and other organizational issues

The contribution of trade to the attainment of the Millennium Development Goals

Debate on substantive themes

Substantive theme (a) Completing the Doha Development Agenda

Rapporteurs

- Mr. Luis Alberto Heber, MP (Uruguay)
- Mr. Rupchand Pal, MP (India)
- Ms. Ann McKechin, MP (United Kingdom), Representative of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

12 noon - 1 p.m.

Dialogue with Ministers and senior WTO Officials

Panellists

- Mr. John C. Tsang, Chairman of the Sixth WTO Ministerial Conference, Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, China
- Mr. Peter Mandelson, European Commissioner for External Trade
- Mr. Yi Xiaozhun, Vice Minister of Commerce, China
- Ambassador Amina Chawahir Mohamed (Kenya), Chairperson of the WTO General Council

1 - 2.30 p.m.

Reception hosted by the National People's Congress of China

* * *

* * *

2.30 - 6 p.m. We

Working session

Provisional Programme 2.

Continuation of the debate on substantive theme (a), followed by

Substantive theme (b) Coherence between Trade Policy and other Public Policy Challenges

Rapporteurs

- Mr. Toshikatsu Matsuoka, MP (Japan)
- Mr. Helmuth Markov, Member of the European Parliament
- Mr. Hassan Moradi, MP (Islamic Republic of Iran)

4.30 - 6 p.m. Interactive panel discussion: good practices of oversight by parliaments in the field of international trade

Moderator

• Ms. Erika Mann, Member of the European Parliament

Panellists

- Mr. Bhokin Bhalakula, Speaker of the House of Representatives of Thailand
- Senator Jean Bizet (France)
- Senator Fernando Margáin Berlanga (Mexico)
- Mr. Shakeel Ahmed Yousuf Abdul Razack Mohamed, MP (Mauritius)
- Senator Grant Mitchell (Canada)

6 p.m. Adjournment of the working session

Thursday, 15 December

9.30 a.m. - 1 p.m. Steering Committee (in camera meeting)

* * *

2.30 p.m. Resumption of the plenary working session

Update on negotiations at the WTO Ministerial Conference

Continuation of the debate

3.30 - 5 p.m. High-level dialogue on trade and development with representatives of international organizations, civil society, business and the media

Panellists

- Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary-General, UNCTAD
- Mr. Jeremy Hobbs, Executive Director, Oxfam International
- Ms. Esperanza Durán, Executive Director, Agency for International Trade Information and Cooperation
- Mr. Duncan Campbell, Director, Policy Integration Department, ILO

5 - 6 p.m. **Adoption of the Declaration**

Rapporteur

Mr. Benedict Anthony Martins, MP (South Africa)

6 p.m. Closure of the session