

PARLIAMENTARY MEETING ON THE OCCASION OF THE UNITED NATIONS CLIMATE CHANGE CONFERENCE

Paris (France), 5 and 6 December 2015





DRAFT PROGRAMME

5 December	2015. Premises of the National Assembly
13:30 - 18:30	Registration of participants
15:00 - 16:00	Opening session
	 Mr. Claude Bartolone, President of the National Assembly Mr. Gérard Larcher, President of the Senate Mr. Ban Ki-moon, United Nations Secretary-General Mr. Laurent Fabius, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development, France, Chairman of COP21/CMP11 [tbc] Mr. Saber Chowdhury, President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union
16:00 - 16:15	Group photo
16:15 - 16:45	Special guest
	Power of sub-national action
	 Mr. Arnold Schwarzenegger, 38th Governor of California and the founding chair of R20 – Regions of Climate Action
16:45 - 18:20	Advocacy session
	Call for parliamentary action on climate change
	 Mr. Saber Chowdhury, President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union Mr. Cedric T. Frolick, President of GLOBE International Mr. Aubin Minaku, President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Francophonie Mr. Ionaş-Florin Urcan, Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranea
18:20 - 18:30	Presentation of the draft outcome document
	Rapporteur
	 Senator Hervé Maurey (France)
18:30	Dinner cocktail offered by the President of the National Assembly
C.D. comban	201E Promises of the Senate

09:00 - 18:00	Registration of participants
10:00 - 10:15	Welcome address
	 Mr. Gérard Larcher, President of the Senate
10:15 - 11:00	Guest speakers
	Leading the world towards a green economy
	 Ms. Ségolène Royal, Minister of Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy, France Mr. Achim Steiner, Executive Director of the United Nations Environment Programme, UN Under Secretary-General Mr. Angel Gurría, Secretary-General of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

Draft programme 2.

11:00 - 12:15	Interactive panel discussion
	From climate science to parliamentary action
	<u>Moderator</u>
	Mr. Saber Chowdhury, President of the Inter-Parliamentary Union
	<u>Panellists</u>
	 Mr. Michel Jarraud, Secretary-General of the World Meteorological Organization
	 Prof. Hoesung Lee, Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
	 Prof. Nicholas Stern, Chairman of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment
	Mr. Ekwee Ethuro, Speaker of the Senate (Kenya)
	 Senator Luis Fernando Duque García (Colombia), President of the Andean Parliament
12:15 - 13:00	Thematic debate
	Gender, youth and behavioural aspects of climate policies Discussants
	Ms. Rosaline J. Smith, MP (Sierra Leone), Forum of Young
	Parliamentarians of the IPU
	 Senator Jérôme Bignon (France)
13:00 - 14:30	Luncheon cocktail offered by the Senate
14:30 - 15:30	Continuation and end of the thematic debate
	Gender, youth and behavioural aspects of climate policies
15:30 – 17:00	Interactive panel discussion
	Green energy crosstalk: in pursuit of a healthier and more liveable Earth
	<u>Moderator</u>
	 Mr. Mohamed El-Farnawany, International Renewable Energy Agency
	<u>Panellists</u>
	Mr. Kennedy Graham, MP (New Zealand)
	 Mr. Luc Rémont, President of Schneider Electric France Mr. Jean-Louis Etienne, Explorer
	Mr. Kevin De León, President pro Tempore, California State
	Senate (USA)
17:00 - 17:30	Expert opinion
	What next after Paris? Priorities for global action
	 Ms. Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO
	 Ms. Mary Robinson, President of the Mary Robinson Foundation and UN Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Climate Change
17:30 - 18:00	Closing session
	Adoption of the draft outcome document
	Rapporteur
	 Senator Hervé Maurey (France)