Durban (South Africa), 5 December 2011
Organized jointly by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and the Parliament of the Republic of South Africa
South African Parliament

The next full-scale session of the United Nations Climate Change Conference, known as COP17/CMP7, will take place in Durban, South Africa, from 28 November to 9 December 2011. The IPU and the South African Parliament will organize a Parliamentary Meeting in conjunction with the Climate Change Conference in Durban. The Meeting will offer parliamentarians an opportunity to obtain first-hand information on the main issues and orientations of COP17/CMP7, interact with government negotiators directly involved in the UNFCCC decision-making process, gain better knowledge of the recommendations adopted by the IPU with regard to parliamentary action on climate change, and exchange views on parliamentary follow-up to the session in Durban.

COP17 Logo The Parliamentary Meeting will take place on Monday, 5 December 2011,
on the premises of Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

The Meeting will be open to all members of parliament who are present in Durban at the time of COP17/CMP7. As a rule, they are expected to be accredited to the UN Conference and have a COP17/CMP7 badge. This badge is valid for the Parliamentary Meeting, with no other ID badges required. However, if for one reason or another a delegate does not have a COP17/CMP7 badge, a special one-day "Parliamentary Meeting" badge will be issued by the IPU registration desk at Moses Mabhida Stadium. This badge is valid for the Parliamentary Meeting only and will not allow access to the UN Conference. All cases when participants in the Parliamentary Meeting are not accredited to COP17/CMP7 and therefore require a special one-day badge must be announced to the IPU Secretariat in advance, using the registration form to be returned to the IPU by 15 November 2011 at the latest.

Important notice. The IPU and the South African Parliament are not in a position to facilitate accreditation to COP17/CMP7, provide visa support for entry into South Africa or hotel accommodation in Durban. These matters should be dealt with by each delegation individually, as part of the overall COP17/CMP7 accreditation procedure.


Updated on 7 December 2011
Outcome document [Word] [PDF]New!
List of participants [PDF]New!
Speech of Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab, Honorary IPU President, at the opening session [PDF]New!
Speech of Mr. Max Vuyisile Sisulu, Speaker of the National Assembly of South Africa, at the opening session [PDF]New!
Speech of Mr. Abdul Waheed Patel, Managing Director, Ethicore (South Africa) [PDF]New!
Programme [PDF] [HTML]
Invitation [PDF]
Practical Information Note [PDF]
Advance Information Letter [PDF]
Registration form [Word] [PDF]
Parliament of the Republic of South Africa
Moses Mabhida Stadium
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Parliamentary Meeting on the occasion of COP16/CMP6 (Cancún, 6 December 2010)
Parliamentary Meeting on the occasion of COP15/CMP5 (Copenhagen, 16 December 2009)

Note: Documents in PDF format require Adobe Acrobat Reader Get Acrobat Reader

Updated on 6 December 2011   
08:30 - 18:00 Registration of participants
10:00 - 10:30Opening session
  • Dr. Theo-Ben Gurirab, Honorary President of the IPU, Speaker of the National Assembly of Namibia
  • Mr. Max Vuyisile Sisulu, Speaker of the National Assembly of South Africa
  • Ms. Margareta Wahlström, Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Disaster Risk Reduction, UN Under-Secretary-General
  • Mr. Agostinho Zacarias, UNDP Resident Coordinator in South Africa
10:30 - 11:15 Keynote presentation
Feeling the heat: Fast-track and long-term finance pledges
  • Ms. Veerle Vandeweerd, Director for Energy and Environment, UNDP
11:15 - 13:00 Interactive panel discussion
Creating a virtuous push and pull cycle for low carbon and renewable energy projects
  • Sir John Prescott, (UK), Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
  • Mr. Augustin Iyamuremye, (Rwanda), member of Pan-African Parliament
  • Mr. Abdul Waheed Patel, Managing Director, Ethicore (South Africa)
13:00 - 14:30 Lunch
14:30 - 15:15 Briefing session
Operationalization of the Cancún Agreements: Progress report on COP17/CMP7 negotiations
  • Ms. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister of Home Affairs of South Africa
15:15 - 17:30 Interactive panel discussion
Concerted action on climate mitigation and adaptation:
The case for national legislators and local authorities
  • Mr. Saber Chowdhury, MP (Bangladesh), Chairman of All-Party Group on Climate Change and Environment
  • Mr. Gino van Begin, Deputy Secretary General and Regional Director for Europe, ICLEI – Local Governments for Sustainability
  • Senator Ronan Dantec (France)
17:30 - 18:00 Closing session
Adoption of the draft outcome document
  • Mr. Cedric Thomas Frolick, MP, House Chairperson of the National Assembly of South Africa
* * *
18:00 Cocktail reception courtesy of UNDP

Moses Mabhida Stadium is one of the best known tourist attractions in Durban and is easily accessible by public transportation, taxis and private vehicles from the main venue of the UN Conference (International Convention Centre and Durban Exhibition Centre) and the majority of the hotels where delegates will be lodged. To enter the site of the Parliamentary Meeting, delegates should direct themselves to the VIP gate on the Northern side of the Stadium.
Moses Mabhida Stadium
Directions to Moses Mabhida Stadium
Kings Park Sporting Precinct
Durban, South Africa
Tel.: +27 31 582 8222
Fax: +27 86 531 4812
Website: http://www.mosesmabhidastadium.co.za

Home page Main areas of activity Structure and functioning Specialized meetings Quick search