

INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION 124th Assembly and related meetings Panama City (Panama), 15 – 20 April 2011



A/124/Inf.1.rev 13 April 2011

VACANCIES TO BE FILLED DURING THE 124th ASSEMBLY

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

On 20 April 2011, the Governing Council will be required to elect **one member** to replace Mr. R.M.K. Al Shariqi (United Arab Emirates), who is no longer a member of parliament (Article 23.6 of the IPU Statutes).

Candidatures from the corresponding geopolitical group - <u>the Arab Group</u> - accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, may be submitted up to 9 a.m. on Tuesday, 19 April 2011.

SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION

Coordinating Committee of Women Parliamentarians

On 15 April 2011, the 16th Meeting of Women Parliamentarians will be called upon to elect:

- (i) **Two titular regional representatives** from the Arab Group, to replace Ms. S. Greiss (Egypt) and Ms. A. Al Qubaisi (United Arab Emirates) who are no longer members of parliament;
- (ii) **One titular regional representative** from the Asia-Pacific Group, to replace Ms. J. Hall (Australia) who has resigned from her post on the Committee; and
- (iii) **One substitute regional representative** from the Eurasia Group, a vacancy not filled at the 15th Meeting of Women Parliamentarians.

Geopolitical groups are requested to submit candidatures in writing, by 6 p.m. on Thursday, 14 April 2011 at the latest, to the Manager of the Gender Partnership Programme, Ms. K. Jabre. Candidatures should be accompanied by a signed covering letter from the geopolitical group and a brief curriculum vitae (three paragraphs maximum) of the candidate in English and/or French only, for distribution to participants.

Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians

On 20 April 2011, the Governing Council will be required to elect:

- **Two titular members** to replace Ms. Z. Benarous (Algeria) and Ms. S. Carstairs (Canada), whose terms of office expire at the 188th session of the Governing Council.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae (one page maximum), may be submitted up to 9 a.m. on Tuesday, 19 April 2011.

Committee on Middle East Questions

On 20 April 2011, the Governing Council will be required to elect:

- **Two titular and two substitute members**, following the recommendation to increase the membership of the Committee from five to seven titular and substitute members. Members are reminded that the Governing Council has directed that no more than four of the seven members should be of the same gender. As the Committee currently includes four male titular members, the two additional titular members to be elected should be female. Similarly, at least one of the two additional substitute members to be elected should be female.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae (one page maximum), may be submitted up to 9 a.m. on Friday, 15 April 2011.

To date, the following candidatures have been received:

- Mr. A.L. El-Zein (Lebanon): candidature as titular member submitted by the Lebanese National Assembly;
- Mr. H. Falahatpisheh (Islamic Republic of Iran): candidature as titular member submitted by the Secretary General of the Iranian Inter-Parliamentary Group.

Standing Committee Bureaux

First Standing Committee (Peace and International Security)

Apart from the following vacancy:

- **one titular vice-president** for the Twelve Plus Group;

only those members of the current Bureau of the First Standing Committee (titular and substitute) who are marked in the table below as "eligible" (cf. Rule 8.1) may stand for re-election at the Assembly in Panama.

President:	Mr. T. Boa (Côte d'Ivoire) Not eligible	African Group
First Vice-President:	Mr. S.H. Chowdury (Bangladesh) <i>Eligible</i>	Asia-Pacific Group
Vice-Presidents:	TITULAR	SUBSTITUTE
African Group	Current President	Mr. Z. Madasa (South Africa) Not eligible
Arab Group	Mr. B. Boutouiga (Algeria) Not eligible	Ms. L. Bennani Smires (Morocco) <i>Eligible</i>
Asia-Pacific Group	Current First Vice-President	Mr. J.D. Seelam (India) Not eligible
Eurasia Group	Ms. N. Mazai (Belarus) <i>Eligible</i>	Mr. V. Nefedov (Russian Federation) <i>Eligible</i>
Latin American Group	Mr. A. Gutíerrez Cueva (Peru) <i>Eligible</i>	Mr. A. Santos (Brazil) <i>Eligible</i>
Twelve Plus Group	Vacancy	Baroness Thomas of Walliswood (United Kingdom) <i>Eligible</i>

Candidatures from the African Group (titular and substitute), Arab Group (titular), Asia-Pacific Group (substitute) and Twelve Plus Group (titular) may be submitted up to the time of the elections, which will take place on Monday, 18 April 2011 at the last sitting of the Committee.

Second Standing Committee (Sustainable Development, Finance and Trade)

Apart from the following vacancies:

- **one substitute vice-president** for the Arab Group; and
- **one titular and one substitute vice-president** for the Eurasia Group;

only those members of the current Bureau of the Second Standing Committee (titular and substitute) who are marked in the table below as "eligible" may stand for re-election at the Assembly in Panama.

President:	Mr. P. Martin-Lalande (France) Not eligible	Twelve Plus Group
First Vice-President:	Mr. S. Al Hossaini (Saudi Arabia) <i>Eligible</i>	Arab Group
Vice-Presidents:	TITULAR	SUBSTITUTE
African Group	Ms. L.S. Changwe (Zambia) <i>Eligible</i>	Mr. K. Mporogomyi (United Rep. of Tanzania) <i>Eligible</i>
Arab Group	Current First Vice-President	Vacancy
Asia-Pacific Group	Ms. S. Tioulong (Cambodia) Not eligible	Ms. D. Vale (Australia) <i>Eligible</i>
Eurasia Group	Vacancy	Vacancy
Latin American Group	Mr. A. Lins (Brazil) Not eligible	Mr. S. Reyes (El Salvador) <i>Eligible</i>
Twelve Plus Group	Current President	Mr. F. Notari (Monaco) Not eligible

Candidatures from the Arab Group (substitute), Asia-Pacific Group (titular), Eurasia Group (titular and substitute), Latin American Group (titular) and Twelve Plus Group (titular and substitute) may be submitted up to the time of the elections, which will take place on Tuesday, 19 April 2011 at the last sitting of the Committee.

Third Standing Committee (Democracy and Human Rights)

Apart from the following vacancies:

- **one titular and one substitute vice-president** for the Arab Group;

only those members of the current Bureau of the Third Standing Committee (titular and substitute) who are marked in the table below as "eligible" may stand for re-election at the Assembly in Panama.

President:	Mr. J.C. Mahía (Uruguay) <i>Eligible</i>	Latin American Group
First Vice-President:	Mr. Y. Zhumabayev (Kazakhstan) Not eligible	Eurasia Group
Vice-Presidents:	TITULAR	SUBSTITUTE
African Group	Mr. O. Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu (Ghana) <i>Eligible</i>	Ms. P. Fouty-Soungou (Congo) <i>Eligible</i>
Arab Group	Vacancy	Vacancy
Asia-Pacific Group	Mr. S.S. Ahluwalia (India) <i>Eligible</i>	Mr. T.J. Wan Junaidi (Malaysia) Not eligible
Eurasia Group	Current First Vice-President	Mr. S. Gavrilov (Russian Federation) <i>Eligible</i>
Latin American Group	Current President	Ms. D. Castañeda (Panama) <i>Eligible</i>
Twelve Plus Group	Ms. R.M. Albernaz (Portugal) Not eligible	Mr. J. Winkler (Germany) Eligible

Candidatures from the Arab Group (titular and substitute), Asia-Pacific Group (substitute), Eurasia Group (titular), and the Twelve Plus Group (titular) may be submitted up to the time of the elections, which will take place on Tuesday, 19 April 2011 at the last sitting of the Committee.