

# INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION 122<sup>nd</sup> Assembly and related meetings Bangkok (Thailand), 27<sup>th</sup> March - 1<sup>st</sup> April 2010



A/122/Inf.1.rev 15 March 2010

### VACANCIES TO BE FILLED DURING THE 122<sup>nd</sup> ASSEMBLY

### SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION

# Coordinating Committee of Women Parliamentarians

The 15<sup>th</sup> Meeting of Women Parliamentarians will be called upon to renew half of the membership of its Coordinating Committee, to replace those titular and substitute regional representatives whose term expires in April 2010 as well as those members of parliament who have lost their seat.

# Posts to be filled include:

- One titular and one substitute regional representative per geopolitical group, for a four-year term;
- One substitute regional representative for GRULAC to fill the seat left vacant (end of term: 2012).

Women MPs who are ending their term as titular members of the Coordinating Committee are ineligible for re-election as titular regional representatives. Similarly, women MPs who are ending their term as substitute regional representatives are also ineligible for re-election as substitute regional representatives; they are, however, eligible for the position of titular representatives.

The Meeting of Women Parliamentarians will hold elections to the Coordinating Committee on Wednesday, 31 March.

Geopolitical groups are requested to submit candidatures in writing by Monday, 29 March by 6 p.m. at the latest to the Programme Specialist of the Gender Partnership Programme, Ms. J. Ballington. Candidatures should be accompanied by a signed cover letter from the geopolitical group and by a brief curriculum vitae (3 paragraphs maximum) of the candidates in English and/or French only, for distribution to participants.

# Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians

On 1 April 2010, the Governing Council will be required to elect:

- (i) **One titular member** to replace, as from 1 July 2010, Mr. A.Q. Pimentel Jr. (Philippines), whose term of office expires at the end of June 2010;
- (ii) **Two substitute members** to replace Ms. S. Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger (Germany), who is no longer a member of the German delegation; and Mr. Nelson Ávila Contreras (Chile), who is no longer a member of parliament.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae (one page maximum), may be submitted up to Wednesday, 31 March, by 9 a.m.

# Committee to Promote Respect for International Humanitarian Law

On 1 April 2010, the Governing Council will be required to elect:

(i) **One titular member** to replace Ms. W. Chandrawila (Indonesia), who is no longer a member of parliament.

To date, the following candidature has been received for the vacancy corresponding to this geopolitical group:

- Mr. A.A. Tjakra (Indonesia): candidature submitted by the Indonesian Inter-Parliamentary Group.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae (one page maximum), may be submitted up to Wednesday, 31 March, by 9 a.m.

### **Standing Committee Bureaux**

### First Standing Committee (Peace and International Security)

Apart from the following vacancies, all current members of the Bureau of the First Standing Committee (both titular and substitute) are eligible for re-election:

- **one titular vice-president** for the Asia-Pacific Group;
- **one substitute vice-president** for the Arab Group;
- **one substitute vice-president** for the Twelve Plus Group.

Candidatures from the corresponding geopolitical groups for election to the Bureau of the First Standing Committee may be submitted up to the time of the elections, which will take place on Tuesday, 30 March 2010 at the last sitting of the Committee.

### Second Standing Committee (Sustainable Development, Finance and Trade)

Apart from the following vacancies, all current members of the Bureau of the Second Standing Committee (both titular and substitute) are eligible for re-election:

- **one titular vice-president** for the African Group;
- **one titular vice-president** for the Eurasia Group;

Candidatures from the corresponding geopolitical groups for election to the Bureau of the Second Standing Committee may be submitted up to the time of the elections, which will take place on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 at the last sitting of the Committee.

# Third Standing Committee (Democracy and Human Rights)

Apart from the following vacancies, all current members of the Bureau of the Third Standing Committee (both titular and substitute) are eligible for re-election:

- **one president** for the Latin American Group;
- **one titular vice-president** for the African Group;
- **one titular vice-president** for the Arab Group;
- **one titular vice-president** for the Asia-Pacific Group;
- **one substitute vice-president** for the African Group;
- **one substitute vice-president** for the Eurasia Group;
- **one substitute vice-president** for the Latin American Group.

Candidatures from the corresponding geopolitical groups for election to the Bureau of the Third Standing Committee may be submitted up to the time of the elections, which will take place on Wednesday, 31 March 2010 at the last sitting of the Committee.