

117th ASSEMBLY OF THE INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION AND RELATED MEETINGS

Geneva, 8-10.10.2007

A/117/Inf.2.rev.2 4 October 2007

VACANCIES TO BE FILLED DURING THE 117th ASSEMBLY

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

On 10 October 2007, the Governing Council will be required to elect **seven members** to fill the following seats on the Executive Committee:

African Group : Three vacancies [expiry of terms of office of

Mrs. M.N. Mensah-Williams (Namibia); Mr. O.F. Natchaba

(Togo) and Mr. F.X. Ole Kaparo (Kenya)]

To date, the following candidatures have been received for the vacancies corresponding to this geopolitical group:

- Mr. E.B. Sekyi Hughes (Ghana): candidature submitted by the Parliament of Ghana;

- Mr. T. Toga (Ethiopia): candidature submitted by the Parliament of Ethiopia;

- Mr. M.C. Nago (Benin): candidature submitted by the National Assembly of Benin.

Asia-Pacific Group : Two vacancies [expiry of terms of office of Mr. T. Kawara

(Japan) and Mr. Lü Congmin (China)]

To date, the following candidatures have been received for the vacancies corresponding to this geopolitical group:

- Mr. Ngo Anh Dzung (Viet Nam): candidature submitted by the National Assembly of Viet Nam;
- Mr. Yoo Jay-Kun (Republic of Korea): candidature submitted by the National Assembly of the Republic of Korea:
- Mr. S. Chatterjee (India): candidature submitted by the Parliament of India;
- Mr. K. Sairaan (Mongolia): candidature submitted by the Parliament of Mongolia.

Latin American Group : One vacancy [expiry of term of office of Mr. H. Fortes

(Brazil)]

Twelve Plus Group : One vacancy [expiry of term of office of Mr. J. Austin

(United Kingdom)]

Candidatures from the corresponding regions, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, may be submitted up to Tuesday, 9 October 2007, at 11 a.m.

SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL OF THE INTER-PARLIAMENTARY UNION

Committee on Middle East Questions (ad hoc)

On 10 October 2007, the Governing Council will be required to elect **two titular members** to replace Mr. O. Bah (Guinea), whose term of office expires at the 181st session of the Governing Council; and Prof. Dr. R. Cetin (Turkey), who is no longer a member of parliament.

To date, the following candidature has been received:

- Mrs. A. Clywd (United Kingdom): candidature submitted by the delegation of the United Kingdom.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, may be submitted up to Tuesday, 9 October, at 11 a.m.

APPOINTMENT OF TWO INTERNAL AUDITORS FOR THE 2008 ACCOUNTS

On 10 October, the Governing Council will appoint **two Internal Auditors** for the 2008 fiscal year. They will report in Spring 2009. Parliamentarians interested in submitting their candidature for this position should preferably have prior experience either in a parliamentary finance or audit committee.

Candidatures, accompanied by a signed covering letter and a brief curriculum vitae, may be submitted up to Tuesday, 9 October, at 11 a.m.